BannerSide.jpg (9482 bytes)
Back.jpg (2393 bytes) Home.jpg (2357 bytes)

New Parliament to be opened tomorrow
[17 October 2000]

The 11th Parliament will be opened tomorrow and the Emergency debate will be taken up, preceded by the election of the Speaker, Deputy Speaker and the Deputy Chairman of the Committees.

The focus will be on the election of a Speaker. The PA is expected to nominate a former minister representing the minority community while the UNP is set to propose the name of Anura Bandaranaike.

The EPDP and NUA who joined the government are expected to receive portfolios in the cabinet scheduled to be sworn in on Thursday.

The UNP have already released their National List while the PA has not yet submitted to Elections Commissioner.

According to political sources, among the PA National List members to be sworn in are : Lakshman Kadirgamar, Alavi Mowlana, Raja Collure, Batty Weerakoon, Ronnie De Mel, Rizwie Sinnalebbe, Mohamed Haniffa and Somaweera Chandrasiri.

The 12 member UNP National List released by the party last night comprised : K.N. Choksy, A.H.M. Azwer, Milionda Moragoda, Daham Wimalasena, K. Kanakaraj, M.S. Sellasamy, P.P. Devaraj, Ravindra Randeniya, Tilak Marapone, Abdul Majid, Nihal Bakmeewewa and Sirinal De Mel.




LineBlack.jpg (4850 bytes)

blue sqButton.jpg (1703 bytes) Contact Information: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site. Last modified: August 31, 2004.